No shows booked at the moment.


A full program of music by Maurice Ohana (1913-1992) for six- and ten-string guitars.

Tiento (1957)
Estelas (1974–77)
Si le jour paraît… (1963)

Nicolò Spera

  • 2014

Italian guitarist Nicolò Spera brings to his teaching and performing a unique synthesis of European and American traditions.
After his studies with Mauro Storti and Marco Tajo at the Giuseppe Nicolini Conservatory in Piacenza, Spera graduated with the highest marks from the Claudio Monteverdi Conservatory in Bolzano as a student of Lorenzo Micheli. He later studied with Oscar Ghiglia at the Giuseppe Verdi Conservatory in Milan and at the prestigious Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena, where he always received the Diploma di Merito distinction and the scholarship from the Chigiana Foundation.
In separate studies, he focused on the performance of Renaissance music on the guitar with Massimo Lonardi, and on chamber music with Matteo Mela and Anna Sorrento.
Spera received his postgraduate education with Lorenzo Micheli at the Conservatory of Aosta and at the Accademia Musicale Tema in Milan. He then moved to the United States, where he was awarded the Artist Diploma in Guitar Performance at the University of Denver. He later completed his Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Colorado Boulder with Jonathan Leathwood.
A versatile chamber musician, in 2012 Spera co-founded the ensemble Duo Chagall with violinist Jenny Diaz. Previously, he worked on an unusual chamber music project with clarinetist Andrew Dykema, and together they performed the complete guitar and clarinet repertoire by the late Romantic Viennese composer Ferdinand Rebay.
Thanks to his passion for contemporary music, he has had the privilege of collaborations with composers such as John Drumheller, Ryan Fiegl, and the accomplished Italian conductor Simone Fontanelli, giving premières and performances of their guitar works. Spera has also participated in the US première of Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s Morning in Iowa, a unique musical fresco based on the homonymous poem by Robert Nathan.
In 2011, Spera was appointed to the faculty at the University of Colorado Boulder, where he is Instructor of Classical Guitar, and the founder of the UC International Guitar Festival and Competition. He is also on the faculty of the International Studies Institute at Palazzo Rucellai in Florence, Italy. attracts prestigious guests, guitar performers, and students from all over the world.

Nicolò Spera Website →