A retrospective program of the music for guitars by James Tenney (1934–2006)—one of America’s unsung experimental music heroes. These concerts are produced in collaboration with Larry Polansky, Matt Ingalls and SFSound, and David Tanenbaum’s San Francisco Conservatory Guitar Ensemble; with funding from San Francisco Friends of Chamber Music, the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, and the University of California Santa Cruz Music Department.


Harmonium II (1976)—for two guitars
Septet (1981)—for six electric guitars and electric bass
Water on the mountain…Fire in heaven (1985)—for six electric guitars
Spectrum 4 (1994)—for mixed ensemble.

Tenney Guitar Project

  • 2015